Type to search


Governor-Elect Carney announces members of transition team

Avatar photo

WILMINGTON — Governor-elect John Carney announced the members of his Transition Team today. More than 35 Delawareans, with diverse backgrounds and areas of expertise, will help the Governor-elect review state government operations and develop a policy action plan to guide his term in office.  The team will be divided into four committees: Economic Development & Healthy Environment, Public Safety & Strong Neighborhoods, Education & Healthy Families, and State Budget & Workforce.

“Our state faces a lot of serious challenges, and so I intend to hit the ground running when I take office in January,” said Governor-Elect Carney. “We’ve assembled a team of people who are experts in their fields, have deep ties to the community, and share my vision for making Delaware a place where every person has the chance to be successful. I’m grateful to these individuals for their willingness to help me determine the steps we need to take to lead Delaware into the future.”

The Governor-Elect’s Transition Team will be chaired by William Bowser, Partner at Young, Conaway, Stargatt, & Taylor, LLC.  Albert Shields, currently serving as Deputy State Director in Governor-elect Carney’s congressional office, will serve as Transition Policy Director.

The Co-Chairs of the Transition Team are Doneene Damon, Charles Madden, Lolita Lopez and Todd Lawson.

 See below for a list of Transition Team committees and members:

Economic Development & Healthy Environment

Doneene Damon (Co-Chair) – Executive Vice President, Richards, Layton & Finger, P.A.

Desmond Baker – Founder, Desmond A. Baker & Associates, LLC

Neeraj Batta – Principal & Senior Vice President, Batta Environmental Associates, Inc.

Patrick Callahan – Co-Founder, CompassRed Data Labs

Guillermina Gonzalez – Executive Director, Delaware Arts Alliance

Kate Hackett – Executive Director, Delaware Wild Lands

Lynda Messick – Founder, President, & CEO, Community Bank Delaware (retired)

Collin O’Mara – President & CEO, National Wildlife Federation

Chris Perdue – Business Development, Perdue Agribusiness

 Public Safety & Strong Neighborhoods

Charles Madden (Co-Chair) – Executive Director, Wilmington Hope Commission

Rick Gessner – Senior Vice President, Capital One

Kathy Jennings – State Prosecutor, State of Delaware Department of Justice

Kevin Kelly – President, Leon N. Weiner & Associates, Inc.

Rev. Dr. Lawrence Livingston – Senior Pastor, Mother African Union Church

Phil Morgan – Warden, Delaware Department of Corrections (retired)

Rev. Rita Paige – Pastor, Star Hill AME Church

Angela Showell – Lieutenant Colonel, Delaware National Guard

Mary Jane Willis – Chair, KidsPeace National Board

Education & Healthy Families

Lolita Lopez (Co-Chair) – President & CEO, Westside Family Healthcare

Tony Allen – Chair, Wilmington Education Improvement Commission

Ted Becker – Member, Delaware Health Care Commission & Mayor, Town of Lewes

Bill Bush – President, Caesar Rodney School Board

Rick Deadwyler – Assistant Vice President of Government & Community Relations, University

of Delaware

Janice Nevin – President & CEO, Christiana Care Health System

Linda Poole – Co-Founder, Educationally Speaking & Executive Director for Academics,

Colonial School District (retired)

Dr. Oluseyi Senu-Oke – Physician, Family & Community Medicine

Megan Williams – Executive Director of Population Health, Beebe Healthcare

 Budget & Workforce

Todd Lawson (Co-Chair) – Sussex County Administrator

Jose Echeverri – President & Founder, Echeverri Financial Services

Dr. Kelechi Lawrence – Pharmaceutical Industry Professional & Entrepreneur

George Meldrum – Government Relations, Nemours Foundation, A.I. duPont Hospital for


Rev. Dr. Vincent Oliver – Pastor, New Calvary Baptist Church & President, Interdenominational

Ministers Action Council of Delaware (IMAC)

Nancy Shevock – Executive Director, Delaware Transit Corporation (retired)

Donna Smits – Vice President, Delaware State AFL-CIO

Jocelyn Stewart – Community Investment Director, Barclaycard US

Mark Turner – President & CEO, WSFS Bank

Get the free DBT email newsletter  

Follow the people, companies and issues that matter most to business in Delaware.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Premier Digital Partners

© 2024 Delaware Business Times

Flash Sale! Subscribe to Delaware Business Times and save 50%.

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.


Subscribe to Delaware Business Times and save 50%