Type to search

News Briefs

People on the Move: March 31

Avatar photo

People on the Move is a rundown of recent hirings, promotions, appointments and other notable movements by professionals in the state. If you’re interested in submitting an entry, please contact news@delawarebusinesstimes.com.

The Delaware Restaurant Association has announced Raelynn Grogan’s appointment to executive director of its charitable arm, The Delaware Restaurant Foundation (DRF). Grogan’s ascension to executive director of the DRF (previously the Delaware Restaurant Association Educational Foundation or DRAEF) comes at a key moment for the Association and its expanded vision and commitment to assist the restaurant sector via workforce development programmes. Carrie Leishman continues to serve as the president and chief executive officer of The Delaware Restaurant Association and The Delaware Restaurant Foundation.

Raelynn Grogan | DBT PHOTO

As the philanthropic foundation of the Delaware Restaurant Association, the DRF is dedicated to enhancing the industry’s training and education, career opportunity, and community engagement efforts.

“Raelynn’s passion and dedication for cultivating the next generation of restaurant leaders is unparalleled,” Carrie Leishman, president & CEO, DRA and DRF, said in a statement. “This promotion reflects Raelynn’s  commitment to excellence and her contributions to the ongoing success of the industry as we look to expand the role and work of our Foundation.”

During Grogan’s tenure at the DRF, its ProStart® high school culinary and restaurant management programme expanded to include 21 high schools and two correctional facilities (reaching over 3,000 students across the state), restaurant industry apprenticeship programmes in Delaware were expanded to include young adults, re-entry and justice-involved individuals, and specialised training/employment opportunities pathways were implemented for adults with disabilities.

The Tatnall School, a private school for students in PK3 through grade 12, announced the following promotions and new hires.

“This new administrative structure will empower our leaders to make the best decisions for our students now and in the years ahead,” Andrew D. Martire, Ed.D., head of School, said. “Being more structurally aligned better optimizes our resources and makes Tatnall a more nimble, responsive and efficient organization. I am proud to lead this exceptional team, who will support our students and the faculty and staff who deliver on the Tatnall mission every day.”

Michele Ciconte, currently the head of Lower School, will assume the role of Director of Special Projects at the end of the academic school year. Ciconte will work closely with Martire on a range of schoolwide projects related to curriculum and instruction, faculty professional development and the implementation of Today, Tomorrow, Tatnall initiatives. Mrs. Ciconte has adeptly led the Lower School for 3 years, and we congratulate her on this new administrative position.

Kim Wagner, Ed.D., will become Tatnall’s head of Lower School. For the past three years, Wagner has served as head of School at Christ Church Episcopal Preschool (CCEP), and spent the previous 15 years working in elementary education as a teacher, literacy instructional specialist, professional development project manager and team leader. Wagner earned three degrees at the University of Delaware: Bachelor of Science, Specialization in Elementary Education and Middle School Math; Master of Instruction, Specialization in Literacy and Technology; and Doctor of Education, Specialization in Literacy Development.

Adrienne Meade has been named head of Early Childhood. For the past three years, Meade has served as the first-ever Early Years Department Chair at Wilmington Friends School (WFS) and has more than 15 years of experience as a lead preschool teacher. She is on the board of directors for the Delaware Association for the Education of Young Children. Meade earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts, majoring in acting, from Marymount Manhattan College, and a Master of Education in Elementary Education from Wilmington University.

Ensign Simmons presently the Middle/Upper School Coordinator of Innovation and Media Services, will assume the schoolwide role of director of Innovation and Technology (DIT). In this capacity, Simmons will oversee academic technology, network systems, MyTatnall, media services and the new Concentrations program, as well as Tatnall’s burgeoning partnership with the University of Delaware. In addition, he will serve as Computer Science Department Chair, leading efforts to create the experiential learning program (“J-Term”) for eighth graders and Upper School students.


AARP Delaware’s State Director, Lucretia Young, and State President, George Meldrum, welcome Rita Landgraf to the National AARP family. Landgraf is taking on a new role as director of AARP’s Family & Caregiving team as part of AARP’s Government Affairs department.

Delawareans will remember Landgraf as the former Cabinet Secretary of Health and Social Services for the State. She also has a deep background in long-term care, health care, and aging and disability issues. Most recently, she served as professor of Practice and Distinguished Health and Social Services Administrator in Residence at the University of Delaware. Landgraf also served as the AARP Delaware volunteer state president and worked at the Arc and NAMI.

The Latin American Community Center elected new Board members at its Annual Meeting.

Héc Maldonado-Reis is the Director of the Data Innovation Lab at Tech Impact, a nonprofit whose mission is to ensure all nonprofits can use technology to better support their communities. His expertise will provide a unique opportunity for LACC to evaluate its impact for social good.

As Director of the Global Alternatives Fund Controller Group at BlackRock, Victor Herrera-Cervantes manages assets across 250 diversified portfolios. He has a history of support for LACC, having taken a lead role in organizing donations to the agency’s annual Adopt-A-Family program.


Re-elected to the Board were members Zelivette Gonzalez Feliciano, Jose Lopez, and Luis Santiago.


Returning members of the Executive Committee are Chair-Cristina Brounce, Bank of America; Vice Chair – Jose Lopez, La Tolteca Mexican Restaurant; Treasurer – John Morton, semi-retired at CDI Global; Co-Treasurer-Mike Hare, The Buccini/Pollin Group; and at-larger officers Ubel Velez, Esq., an attorney in private practice, and Luis Santiago, Pastor of Tower of Prayer Christian Center.


Get the free DBT email newsletter  

Follow the people, companies and issues that matter most to business in Delaware.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Premier Digital Partners

© 2024 Delaware Business Times

Flash Sale! Subscribe to Delaware Business Times and save 50%.

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.


Subscribe to Delaware Business Times and save 50%