Type to search

News Briefs

Gov. Carney announces Compassionate Champion Award recipients


WILMINGTON – Gov. Carney announced the recipients of the Compassionate Champion Award, the State of Delaware’s trauma-informed care recognition program that highlights outstanding achievement by individuals and organizations that provide trauma-informed services.

“We have many dedicated workers across the state who serve their fellow Delawareans, and who have been leaders and advocates in the trauma-informed approach,” said Carney. “The Compassionate Champion Awards provide an opportunity to highlight the outstanding achievement by individuals and organizations that make our state stronger and healthier using the trauma-informed approach. We thank them for their compassion, leadership and commitment to our state and our citizens.”

Compassionate Champion Award Recipients:

Individual‌ ‌Champion

  • First‌ ‌Responder/‌ ‌Medical: Dr. David Chen, ChristianaCare, Hospital Violence Intervention Program
  • Education: Kelley Lumpkin, LPCMH, Children & Families First Delaware

Emerging‌ ‌Champion‌ ‌

  • Community: Project New Start, Inc.— Priscilla Turgon
  • Community: Center for Child Development — Lisa Savage
  • Education: The Bayard School – Victoir Cahoon

Compassionate‌ ‌Champion‌ ‌

  • Community: Delaware Guidance Services — Shana Powell, Jill Rogers, Tiffany Jester
  • Government: ‌ Delaware Department of Services for Children, Youth, and Their Families, Division of Youth Rehabilitative Services — Brandi Ciamarra, Dr. Linda Friedman, Dr. Jacqueline McMichael, Dr. Katharine Powers, Dr. Jamey Rislin, Dr. Simah Waddell, Tina Walls, Dr. Rebecca Richmond
  • First Responder/Medical: ‌ Nemours, Center for Pediatric Traumatic Stress at A.I. duPont Hospital for Children – Anne Kazak, Melissa Alderfer, Meg Frizzola, Jennifer Pendley

On Thursday, October 29, at 5:00 p.m., Governor Carney will premiere a video recognizing the award winners. The video will be publicly available on the Governor’s YouTube Channel and Facebook page.

The Compassionate Champion Award recognizes individuals or teams in government, non-profit and private organizations, first responder professions, education, and other agencies that have taken steps toward providing services in a manner consistent with trauma-informed care criteria in the Delaware Developmental Framework for Trauma Informed Care, a document that outlines best practices for trauma-informed care. The Framework was adapted from the Missouri Model of trauma-informed care, and was produced in collaboration by the Family Services Cabinet Council ACEs Subcommittee and the Compassionate Connections Partnership


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *