Type to search

News Briefs

2021 Compassionate Champion Award recipients announced


WILMINGTON-  Governor John Carney and First Lady Tracey Quillen Carney announced eight recipients of the Compassionate Champion Awards, the state’s recognition program for organizations and individuals in Delaware providing exemplary trauma-informed care. Each 2021 award winner falls within a distinct category –  education, first responder, healthcare, community organization and government – and represent those who go above and beyond in providing compassionate care.

Gov. John Carney during a press conference. | PHOTO COURTESY OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE

“Across the state of Delaware, we have organizations and individuals who have made the commitment to serve their communities using trauma-informed approaches,” said Carney in a statement. “This year, more than ever, it has been crucial to serve with compassion and an understanding of trauma and its effects. Our Compassionate Champion Award recipients have gone above and beyond to make Delaware and its citizens stronger, healthier, and more compassionate. We thank them for all they do for the community.”

“In the past year, we’ve seen the impacts of trauma perhaps more clearly, more publicly, than ever before. And, thanks to our Compassionate Champion Award recipients and many others in our state, we’ve also seen the impact and promise of how we can support each other,” said First Lady Tracey Quillen Carney in a statement to press. “These organizations and individuals have answered the challenge of the past year-plus to support and strengthen communities throughout Delaware. We’ve seen that trauma and challenge are not destiny; that we have the tools to build a better future, and that together, we can do just that.”

2021 Compassionate Champion Award Recipients:

Education:  Sarah Pyle Academy

First Responder:  New Castle County Division of Police, Hero Help Behavioral Health Unit

Healthcare:  ChristianaCare, special recognition to Dr. Stacey Boyer, PsyD and Megan O’Hara, LCSW

Community Organization:  Children & Families First Trauma Response Team

Government:  Erin Connelly, Victim Services Coordinator, Delaware Department of Correction

Due to the extraordinary nominees this year in the education and first responder categories, we are proud to recognize the Compassionate Champion Award First Runners Up:

Education 1st Runner Up: The Bancroft School

Education 1st Runner Up:  Evan G. Shortlidge Academy

First Responder 1st Runner Up: Melissa Pennachi, Newark Police Department

To celebrate the award recipients, a virtual celebration event will take place on Thursday, June 3 at 6:00 p.m. The event can be viewed on the governor’s Facebook and YouTube pages.

For more information on the Compassionate Champion Awards, visit de.gov/cca.

Get the free DBT email newsletter  

Follow the people, companies and issues that matter most to business in Delaware.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.

Flash Sale! Subscribe to Delaware Business Times and save 50%.

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.