Type to search

News Briefs

Bayhealth, Kent Campus, recognize as Level III trauma center

Avatar photo

The trauma center at Bayhealth Hospital Kent Campus has been recertified as a Level III Trauma Center by the Verification Review Committee (VRC), an ad hoc body of the American College of Surgeons’ Committee on Trauma (COT) (ACS).

The American College of Surgeons’ Consultation/Verification Program for Hospitals, which was established in 1987, promotes the development of trauma centers in which participants provide not only the hospital resources required for trauma care, but also the entire spectrum of care to address the needs of all injured patients. This spectrum includes the prehospital phase as well as the recovery procedure.

“Consistent with our mission of improving the health of our community one life at a time, our teams in the Emergency and Trauma Center at our Kent Campus are committed to providing optimal care to patients when they need us most,” Bayhealth President and CEO Terry Murphy, FACHE said in a statement. “This nationally-recognized reverification demonstrates our commitment to our community.” 

Verified trauma centers must meet essential criteria that ensure trauma care capability and institutional performance, as outlined by the American College of Surgeons’ Committee on Trauma in its current Resources for Optimal Care of the Injured Patient manual. 

“We’re honored to serve all patients who come to us for emergency and trauma care,” Bayhealth Medical Director of Emergency Services and Clinical Decision Unit Kelly Abbrescia, DO, FACEP, said. “As the only emergency center in the area, we know our community relies on us to deliver safe, quality care when they need it most. This verification recognizes our teams for providing optimal care for our patients.” 

The ACS Committee on Trauma’s verification program does not designate trauma centers. Rather, the program provides confirmation that a trauma center has demonstrated its commitment to providing the highest quality trauma care for all injured patients. 

There are five separate categories of verification in the COT’s program. Each category has specific criteria that must be met by a facility seeking that level of verification. Each hospital has an on-site review by a team of experienced site reviewers, who use the current Resources for the Optimal Care of the Injured Patient manual as a guideline in conducting the survey. 

A Level III verification means the trauma center has a demonstrated ability to provide prompt evaluation, resuscitation, surgery, intensive care and stabilization of injured patients and emergency operations. 

The American College of Surgeons is a scientific and educational association of surgeons that was founded in 1913 to raise the standards of surgical education and practice and to improve the care of the surgical patient. The College has over 72,000 members and it is the largest association of surgeons in the world. Longstanding achievements have placed the ACS in the forefront of American surgery and have made it an important advocate for all surgical patients. 

Get the free DBT email newsletter  

Follow the people, companies and issues that matter most to business in Delaware.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Premier Digital Partners

© 2024 Delaware Business Times

Flash Sale! Subscribe to Delaware Business Times and save 50%.

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.


Subscribe to Delaware Business Times and save 50%